Home > Recipe, Sides > The Great Lazy Potato Wedges Experiment

The Great Lazy Potato Wedges Experiment

So, last night I wanted a potato-based side to go with the tarts I was cooking. Something quick and easy, and basically a way of using up the bag of baby new potatoes I had brought to go with something else I ended up not cooking. Hastily put together in my head, I decided crispy shelled, fluffy potato wedges were in order, and although what I ended up with was more of a slightly less-crisp-than-envisaged mess of potatoes, it was delicious and I know what I’d do differently (or less hastily and lazily) next time. This dish also served as a way of using up some leftover chorizo slices, although I have the feeling this would work better with thicker coins snipped from a chorizo hoop rather than thin slices from the larger salami-type sausage.

So, how it was:

  • 1kg baby new potatoes
  • About 12 slices of chorizo (and see above), each slice snipped into 6 pieces, Trivial-Pursuit style
  • 2 tablespoons semolina
  • 2 teaspoons smoked paprika
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Wash the potatoes, slice each in half lengthwise, and then slice each half in half again, so each potato becomes four long wedges. Add to boiling, generously salted water and cook until tender, around 20 minutes or so. 

Drain the potatoes, return to the pan, and add the semolina and paprika. Clamp the lid to the pan and give the whole thing a good shake to coat the potatoes in the spiced semolina, adding more semolina and paprika if needed.

Heat the oil in a large pan, and add the coated potato wedges. Turn a few times to crispen up all sides. After the last turning, add the chorizo and, as it releases it’s delicious fat, turn the potatoes in it.

That’s it! Serve immediately.

 So, as I said, nice enough, but not as crispy as I wanted. So, for next time, I would try just parboiling the potatoes, coating in the semolina, turning in a roasting pan of very hot vegetable oil and cooking in a very hot oven, roast-potato style. Yum.

Categories: Recipe, Sides Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

